Guidelines for the Women in Energy Award


The EU Sustainable Energy Awards (EUSEW Awards) call for nominations to award outstanding Women in Energy is designed to highlight the contribution of women in the field of sustainable energy. The call for nominations will run from 11 February until 3 March 2020. Winners will be awarded at the Awards Ceremony taking place in Brussels on 23 June 2020.


The following eligibility criteria shall be applied to all submitted nominations. Eligibility criteria are mandatory. Nominations which do not meet these criteria will be excluded from further evaluation.

Geographical scope

The person nominated that is running the activities, projects, actions must be based in the European Union and their activities, projects, actions must be carried out within the European Union.

Practical implementation

Contributions may include actions, initiatives, and projects undertaken by the nominee. Academic studies and theoretical research projects without any real-scale application, even if  directly linked to sustainable energy, will not be counted as eligible.


Evaluation of nominations is based on two criteria, with a maximum score of ten points each. A nomination can therefore receive a maximum score of 20 points.

Impact (10 points)

Each nomination should emphasise the significant impact and positive contribution to the European energy and climate targets that the nominee has made.

Potential (10 points)

Each nomination should highlight the potential of the nominee to inspire further change, the potential to reach out, engage and motivate.


Nominations are accepted until 3 MARCH 23:59 CET. Should you have any questions about the call, please do not hesitate to contact the EUSEW Secretariat at