• Jerzy Buzek

    Jerzy Buzek

    Member of the European Parliament, Chair of the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE)

    Polish politician and university professor, Jerzy Buzek is a former Prime Minister of Poland and former President of the European Parliament. A member of the European Parliament since 2004, he currently chairs European Parliament’s Committee on Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE). He is the chairman of the European Energy Forum, a platform for discussion between European energy stakeholders and policymakers.

    In 2010, together with Jacques Delors, he proposed the creation of a “European Energy Community”, a strategy to strengthen energy legislation and cooperation within and outside the EU which laid foundations for EU's Energy Union. Led EP's work on Accelerating Clean Energy Innovation, Gas Directive Revision, the Security of Gas Supply legislation, the EU Internal Energy Market, European Strategic Energy Technology Plan (SET-Plan) and the EU’s 7th Framework Programme for Research. Lately the EP plenum backed his call for creating a Just Energy Transition Fund with a budget of €4,8 billion to support European coal regions.

  • Miriam Dalli

    Miriam Dalli

    Member of the European Parliament, S&D Coordinator in the ENVI Committee

    Miriam Dalli is the only MEP in the Politico 28 Class of 2019. She has been identified as a “doer” and an “eco-warrior” thanks to her work on the legislation setting new CO2 emission standards for cars and vans. She was identified as one of the most influential MEPs in the European Parliament for the mandate 2014-2019 by influential publications such as Politico and Votewatch.

    During this term, she served as Coordinator in the ENVI Committee for the Socialists and Democrats. Described as a “master for building progressive alliances” the Maltese MEP returned to Parliament with one of the highest votes ever registered in the Maltese Islands.

  • Giles Dickson

    Giles Dickson

    Chief Executive Officer of WindEurope

    Giles Dickson is the Chief Executive Officer of WindEurope (formerly EWEA), a position he’s held since 2015. WindEurope is the voice of the European wind industry. It represents the whole value chain of onshore and offshore wind across Europe and has more than 400 members. It engages Governments and other stakeholders on policy and regulation, organises industry exhibitions, conferences and workshops and coordinates publicly-funded R&D.

    Dickson is also Chairman of the Advisory Council of ENTSO-E and a Visiting Professor at the Bucharest School of Economics. Prior to joining WindEurope he was a UK civil servant for 16 years then ran public affairs at Alstom.

  • Bas Eickhout

    Bas Eickhout

    Bas Eickhout (1976, Groesbeek), is a Member of the European Parliament for GroenLinks, the Dutch Greens

    Eickhout studied Chemistry and Environmental Science at the Radboud University in Nijmegen and lives in Utrecht. Since 2000 he worked as a researcher at the Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency (Planbureau voor de Leefomgeving). He worked on several projects which had to do with international environmental problems, such as climate change, agriculture, land-use and biofuels. He co-authored the IPCC report on climate change which received the 2007 Nobel Peace Price. During the 2019 May elections, he was one of the two lead candidates for the Greens.

  • Victorien Erussard

    Victorien Erussard

    Captain of Energy Observer

    • 10 years as on offshore racer
    • 1 Route du Rhum
    • 4 Transat Jacques Vabre
    • 3 podiums over 6 transatlantic races
    • 3 F-18 French championships titles
    • 2 Transat Quebec-Saint-Malo... one without rudder
    • 1 year expedition in the South Pole
    • 80 partners reunited around the sailing challenge, Défi Voile Solidaires En Peloton

  • Monica Frassoni

    Monica Frassoni

    President of the European Alliance to Save Energy (EU-ASE)

    Monica Frassoni is an Italian politician and former MEP (1999-2009). During that time she was co-chair of the European Greens–European Free Alliance group in the European Parliament. Currently, she is co-President of the European Green Party.

    Previously, she served for 10 years as an officer of the Greens group in the European Parliament and was Secretary General of the Young European Federalists. In late 2010, Monica took up the role of President of the European Alliance to Save Energy, which promotes energy efficiency across Europe.

  • Monique Goyens

    Monique Goyens

    Director General of the European Consumer Organisation (BEUC)

    As Director General of BEUC, Monique represents 45 independent national consumer associations in 32 European countries, acting as a strong consumer voice in Brussels, ensuring that consumer interests are given weight in the development of policies and raising the visibility and effectiveness of the consumer movement through lobbying EU institutions and media contacts. In her capacity as BEUC Director General, Monique is currently EU co-chair of the Transatlantic Consumer Dialogue (TACD) a network of EU and US consumer organisations, and she also represents BEUC at Consumers International, the international consumer organisation.

    Apart from championing consumer’ rights, Monique’s passions/challenges are her family & cooking for friends.

  • Pirjo Jantunen

    Pirjo Jantunen

    Corporate Social Responsibility Manager, Helen Ltd.

    Pirjo Jantunen is an astute energy leader with a passion to shape the vision of tomorrow's low-carbon energy system and improve the responsibility of organisations alongside their stakeholders.

    Pirjo is an ambassador of youth involvement in energy. She was the World Energy Council’s Future Energy Leaders (FEL-100) Chair from 2015-2018. She is a Corporate Social Responsibility Manager at Helen Ltd., a Finnish energy utility. She holds a Master’s Degree in Economics and Business Administration from the University of Jyväskylä, Finland.

  • William Todts

    William Todts

    Executive Director of Transport & Environment (T&E)

    Williams Todts is the Executive Director of Transport & Environment (T&E), a position he has held since February 2017. In his role he steers the organisation to promote, at EU and global level, policy that ensures cleaner, safer and smarter transport. Before that, he was T&E Director Freight & Climate where he has led the campaign to regulate CO2 emissions from trucks in Europe. He also led a campaign to get cleaner and safer trucks on European roads as well as for the 95 grammes CO2 emissions target that new cars must achieve by 2021.

    Todts joined T&E in 2011 where he held various positions including: Programme Manager from 2015 to 2016, Senior Policy from 2014 and 2015 and Policy Officer from 2011 to 2014. Previously, he worked for the Belgium’s EU Presidency, as well as at the European Parliament and for Belgium MEP Kathleen Van Brempt (S&D). Todts holds a MA in European Studies in History from the Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB).

  • Adina Vălean

    Adina Vălean

    Member of the European Parliament, Chairwoman of the Committee on Environment, Public Health and Food Safety (ENVI)

    Adina Vălean is the Chairwoman of the European Parliament’s Committee for Environment, Public Health and Food Safety. From 2014 to 2017, she has been Vice-President of the European Parliament, on behalf of the EPP Group, in charge of ICT.

    Before becoming a politician, Adina Vălean was a social activist, member of several foundations and associations, which promote tolerance, dialogue and a liberal economic market. Adina Vălean began her professional career as a teacher of Mathematics in Bucharest.

    Adina Vălean has been a member of the European Parliament since 2007 and she has been re-elected in these last elections.