Energy Efficiency Policy – A Policy for Security of Supply, Competitiveness and Sustainability

The session on Energy Efficiency will focus on options for future energy efficiency policies in light of the 2030 Communication, the review of the EED, and the recent developments in the discussion on energy security.

Energy efficiency is a cornerstone of the EU's efforts to foster growth, increase competitiveness and employment, ensure energy security and achieve a sustainable energy system for the European Union. 

Key elements are:

  • The 2012 Energy Efficiency Directive requires that the Member States set indicative national targets for energy efficiency to reach, taken together, the 20% reduction of energy consumption in 2020. The Directive requires the Commission to assess progress towards the 2020 objective in mid-2014.
  • The 2030 Communication asked the mid-2014 review of the Energy Efficiency Directive to establish the exact ambition of future energy savings policy and the measures necessary to deliver it, and to consider whether energy intensity improvements, absolute energy savings or a hybrid of the two represents a better benchmark upon which to frame a 2030 objective.
  • In addition to the recent focus on energy security, the European Council in March 2014 also invited the Council and the Commission to develop an energy efficiency framework, with a view to taking a final decision on the new EU energy policy no later than October 2014.


15:00 – 15:30 Opening statements

  1. Mr Günther Oettinger, European Commissioner for Energy;
  2. Prof. Konstantinos Mathioudakis, Secretary General for Energy and Climate Change, Greek Ministry of Environment, Energy and Climate Change
  3. Mr Anthony Luzzatto Gardner, Ambassador of the United States to the European Union

Following the opening statements there will be a roundtable (15:30 – 16:30) with participants:

  1. Mr Claude Turmes, MEP
  2. Mr Guido Lena, Director for Sustainable Development, UEAPME
  3. Mr Kurt Kuehn, Chief Financial  Officer, UPS
  4. Mr Anders Stouge, Danish Energy Association

Chair/moderator: Marie Donnelly

16:30 - 16:45 Coffee Break

From 15:00 to 16:30
Brussels, Belgium
Charlemagne, de Gasperi
DG Energy
Additional documents
follow on twitter follow on facebook follow on linkedin follow on youtube follow on flickr font-size changer font-size changer

Add me to the EUSEW mailing list
E-mail address:

Policy Conference